The Gospel According to J.K. Rowling | Christianity Today | A Magazine of Evangelical Conviction

25 07 2007

The Gospel According to J.K. Rowling | Christianity Today | A Magazine of Evangelical Conviction

An evangelical view on Harry Potter and its relevance to the Christian Faith. I for one, watch the movies, all of the series in fact. While there are many noble ‘christian’ like values in the show such as the love of Harry’s mother that saved the baby from the power of Lord Voldemort, and among many others the struggle between good and evil. The question which rose from the first book was published and subsequently being made into movies, should Christians read or watch Harry Potters?

Let me know your views and why Christians cannot read or watch the movie, or Why not?

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 07 2007
Malcolm Loh

Hi Dan

Although I’m a strong proponent of the gospel of grace and finished work of the cross, there are certain areas in which I hold very strong convictions upon (some would say I show a lack of grace in these areas):

1. the spirit of excellence has to be displayed in our service to the LORD, just like displayed by Daniel. That is why “lip service” just does not cut it.

2. Some movies/books are just not edifying. That is why I have not read a single Harry Potter book (I prefer books on the Heavenly Potter) nor did I care to watch Da Vinci Code (I prefer to watch movies on The Divine God like The Passion of the Christ). There should be no room for media that glorify the occult or are anti-Christ.

In the area of music for example, there are alternatives to what the world offers, which can strengthen our spirit man. I’ve blogged on this topic here:

http://rootss.blogspot.com/2007/02/why-should-devil-have-all-good-music.html

26 07 2007
joe

If your message is not about Jesus, it is not about the Gospel, because the Gospel message is a message about Jesus.

Jesus answered them, and said, My doctrine is not mine, but his that sent me. If any man will do his will, he shall know of the doctrine, whether it be of God, or whether I speak of myself. He that speaketh of himself seeketh his own glory: but he that seeketh his glory that sent him, the same is true, and no unrighteousness is in him.
John7.16-18

27 07 2007
Pericles

God knows that I agree with you both. We’ve got to be ready to defend the Truth, as Daniel was sharing in one of his recent posts. Also Paul who wrote, Preach the Word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage—with great patience and careful instruction. (2 Tim 4:2) We should also be ready to jump in through any open doors created by these films & books to share the Gospel, including the need for conviction & repentance. The endtimes are upon us, let us gird up ourselves and step into the fray. Onward Christian Soldiers!

On a side note, I was in Borders just now & I saw this book on sale: http://www.theexpectedone.com/ Even more astonishingly (to my utmost horror) is this report: http://www.usatoday.com/life/books/news/2006-07-17-magdalene-book_x.htm

I liked this post: http://galatiansc4v16.wordpress.com/2005/07/27/harry-potter-politically-correct-paganism/ but this one stunned me (being a Sunday School teacher myself): http://evangelismtoday.blogspot.com/2005/08/harry-potter-vbs.html How has the world infiltrated the Church?! What is the world & the Church coming to?

Leave a Reply

