I am a nobody

26 02 2007

In eons ago, i am an alcoholic, one without prudence in my handling of finances, and as a result, disappointing to many and i can’t forgive myself – riches is something i abhor. As i was reading Proverbs one verse spoke to me so much about 2 to 3 years ago which changed my perspective about life.

Better to be a nobody and yet have a servant, than pretend to be somebody and have no food. Proverbs 12:9

I often wonder, am i a person that’s defined by my character, values, clothes i wear, my mannerism, etc. True, as the sayings go, a man’s characters are a reflection of his mannerism, but i realised all of the above’s not what makes a man tho they might be a secondary indication. What is more important is how i relate myself to God.

Now that i am meeting people, like Mercy’s parents, there are some stresses along with it to keep up with appearance or when i meet a client in office or outside, Mercy’s very right to say i should wear appropriately to meet them, but where is the limit to wearing so obstentiously that it crosses the line of putting up a false pretense. I am still discovering that for myself. One thing has never changed, my single purpose that’s driving my life, my passion, my mind, my everything is the desire to seek God and to please Him first. I crave and I long for God’s approval and His mark of pleasure in what i do, let me not divert from that and let me live, i live it for God. Oh i love Mercy too, but i can’t love her enough when i can’t love God more than her.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 02 2007
ku-ryan

Taking the following saying as the foundation, I’ll speak my thoughts.

Mark 8:35… but whosoever shall lose his life for my sake and the Gospel’s, the same shall save it.

If one allows mortal things to identify and personify one’s life and one’s feeling of self then a mortal life they shall live.

There are many that look for mortal things as a sign to what kind of person you are – the car you drive, the place you sleep, what neighborhood that place is in, what you do for work, and yes even the clothes you wear – Even though I don’t identify with these ideas I feel they have some importance with regard to gaining respect so that through the earned mortal trust you can also make an attempt to earn spiritual trust as well. Often times if you fail the mortal test, you will never be given the chance to even meet the spiritual side… let alone being able to help it along the path Jesus has set before us.

I do the “pleasing” things so that I may reach those in need. Granted there are pleasing aspects about possessing those pleasing things… but they themselves are not the reason why I have them.

Matthew 9:12… They that be whole need not a physician, but they that are sick.

Doing things that are “accepted” will never be a false pretence – that is only if those acts are done with the Lord’s work in mind. Pleasing Mercy’s parents will pave the way to becoming one with her and that makes God happy, getting to know them and sharing you’re love of God with them also pleases God. If you see a client and he is pleased, will he not give you more business? I believe pleasing others in ways not contrary to the commandments also pleases God.

27 02 2007
joe

Galatians 1:10  ¶For do I now persuade men, or God? or do I seek to please men? for if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ.

Leave a Reply

