External vs Internal

30 12 2006

It is so strange, that something i noticed through two incidents – First, in church during the music ministry practise where the worship leader made a comment that we must wear appropriately as to show respect to God and to carry ourselves rightly and second, Mercy wanted me to wear a shirt and pants and to wear our best to God. I admit, i am not a person who is concerned about wearing a tie, shirt and well pressed pants to church and to me, what’s on the inside is so much more important than one in an expensive suit. God looks on the inside, otherwise if God were to look on the outside, the pharisees would have scored perfect ten every time! What’s on the inside, when i come to God every time, and every day, am i right before God? is my heart in the right place, am i walking right in His eyes, is my life pleasing to Him, and i want to know God intimately, not just through experiences, but through His Word, and that I might be counted righteous through my faith in Him, not just the external. Am i wrong to ignore the external?

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 01 2007
joe

Mat23:27 Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye are like unto whited sepulchres, which indeed appear
beautiful outward, but are within full of dead men’s bones, and of all uncleanness. 28 Even so ye also outwardly appear righteous unto men, but within ye are full of hypocrisy and iniquity.

2 01 2007
ts

My pastor talked to me many years ago about the same issue. At that time, the “grunge” rock movement was at its height in Seattle, and I was wearing long hair, torn jeans, and old flannel shirts.

Now, I wear pants and a button-up shirt every Sunday, at least. The reason why I do this is not because it improves my relationship with God, but because it helps more “unspiritual” visitors and members to understand that I do, in fact, honor God, despite my unruly dress.

IMO, dressing up is about others, not about you or God.

Leave a Reply

