Reclaiming our identity

27 12 2006

I’ve always wonder why there lies a deep crevine that separates the apostolic church and the church today. The church of Apostle Paul’s day taught and walk in signs and wonders, the church today talked about signs and wonders, well i am referring to the church on the whole, while there are some who performed signs and miracles, but it is not true of the church on the whole. Many want to walk in signs and miracles, but lacking the discipline to do so. I saw this book at Life Bookstore on monday “Disciplines of a godly man” by R.Kent Hughes, and i really want to get it. Well it is a heart cry for me. To be godly because it is commanded by God Himself. Be holy for I am Holy. Godliness is a reflection of who God is. I want to reclaim that identity, which many has lost or never knew that they were called to holiness and godliness! What identity am i wearing today? Have i been walking in godliness and holiness? Is my life a pleasing sacrifice to my God?

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 01 2007
joe

Do we seek the Face of God, rather than His Hand? Isnt the fact that we are alive everyday a miracle ? And to live for Christ rather than self?

John20:29 Jesus saith unto him, Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed.

Mark8:12 And he sighed deeply in his spirit, and saith, Why doth this generation seek after a sign? verily I say unto you, There shall no sign be given unto this generation.

1997 06 01.1 Gibson prophecy

For those of My Spirit, they seek the ways of God. Those who follow after My Spirit,
seek the ways of God.

But there are many who do not seek My Spirit, rather they seek the manifestations of
the Spirit and they get led away into the things of signs and wonders, some from Me
and some not.

Beware of those who do not seek truly the Spirit of God, but rather seek the signs, the
wonders, the miracles. In a selfish way they seek them and they are not truly seeking
after My Word and My will.

5 01 2007
danski

I beg to defer slightly on the stand. Not that i disagree that we all ought to seek God not His miracles and His work. I must re-emphasize this. That we are all commanded to seek to GLORIFY Him. that’s the purpose of our existence, to glorify Him and to please Him.

The chief end of Man is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.

I think it is slightly on the different direction from seeking God’s face. Guess i am very much influenced by John Piper and Jonathan Edwards on this.

5 01 2007
joe

Interesting stand. And how do we Glorify Him? Using our own ways to Glorify Him or Seeking His will for us to Glorify Him? Purpose-driven or Spirit-led?

Prov19.21 There are many devices in a man’s heart; nevertheless the counsel of the LORD, that shall stand.

Leave a Reply

